On a very sunny and warm afternoon at the Stadium of light, Man United were able to collect another 3 points on the road that saw them move into 5th position and maintain their top four push.

It was a very comfortable afternoon for United after they were able to take the lead on the half hour mark through a goal from Zlatan Ibrahimović where he was able to hold off the Sunderland defender and place a shot into the far right corner.

This helped steady United and they was in even more control after referee Craig Pawson sent off Sebastian Larsson for a dangerous tackle on Ander Herrera.

49 seconds after the second half kicked off United were able to double their lead through a goal that saw United complete 15 passes without a Sunderland player involved and was well taken from Henrikh Mkhitaryan who collected the ball  inside the box and hit a well driven shot into the bottom right corner.

United were in complete control and the more Sunderland pushed forward the more space there was for United to run in to.

Mourinho brought on Rashford and Martial for their speed and it eventually worked after numerous attacks, Pogba played a through ball to Rashford who played a one-two with Ibrahimović and then like Mkhitaryan drilled his shot into the opposite corner.

Sunderland never really hard any clear chances in the game and were very deflated as soon as the first goal went in with the majority of fans, players and staff realising this may be the time they are relegated to the Championship.

It’s now 7 games without a goal for Sunderland and it may be too little to late now for them to survive.

As well as getting the 3 points Jose Mourinho will also be pleased to see Shaw play a strong and solid 60 minutes, more of a goal scoring instinct from Man United and Rashford getting his first Premier League goal since September.


Manchester United – Romero, Darmain, Bailly, Rojo, Shaw, Herrera, Fellaini, Pogba, Mkhitaryan, Lingard, Ibrahimović.  subs Pereira, blind, Carrick, Tzuanbe, Fonsu-Mensah, Rashford, Martial.

Sunderland Pickford, Jones, Kone, Denayar, Oviedo, Cattermole, Rodwell, Larsson, Ndong, Anichebe, Defoe.  subs Mannone, Djilobodji, Borini, Khazri, Pienaar, Manquillo, Gibson